top of page

Vollmer named Rotarian of the year

Stephanie Vollmer was recognized as the Raymond McCallister Rotarian of the Year, and Allen Huggins was installed as president during the Rotary Club of Fulton’s installation banquet at Ohana’s on Wednesday evening.

Stephanie Vollmer receives the Rotarian of the Year from last year's winner, Brenda Loeffler.

The Rotarian of the Year Award was presented to Vollmer by Brenda Loeffler, last year’s recipient. Vollmer joined Fulton Rotary in 2020 and will be president-elect this coming year. She served as fundraising chair this year, organizing the Low Country Boil for CASA and the Terrarium Workshop and Flower Sale.

In addition, she helped with the Callaway Chamber of Commerce business breakfast, volunteered at the Callaway 200 bicentennial celebration, rang bells for Salvation Army, worked the blood drive, helped organize the Afghan baby shower, and helped assemble carts at Mobility Worldwide.

The Rotarian of the Year Award honors the late Rev. Raymond McCallister, a long-serving member of the Fulton Rotary Club and pastor of the First Christian Church in Fulton. Rev. McCallister served as club president from 1971-72 and passed away in the fall of 2005. Club members remember Rev. McCallister for his active club participation and great sense of humor.

Allen Huggins, incoming president, presents a gift to outgoing president, Debbie Laughlin.

Previous award recipients serve as the selection committee and identify a member of the Fulton Rotary Club for recognition of distinguished service, loyalty, and devotion to the ideals of Rotary.

Past District Governor Raymond Plue installed Huggins and the officers: President-elect Stephanie Vollmer, Recording Secretary Sherry McCarthy, and Treasurer Joan Berry Morris.

Directors are Blunderbus Editor Brenda Loeffler; Community Service, Mary Ann Beahon; Family of Rotary, Debbie LaRue; Foundation, Steve Long and Bill Bryant; Fundraising, Stephanie Vollmer; International Services, Bob Hansen and Amanda Gowin; Membership, Jan Reyes; Programs, Whit McCoskrie; Social, Andrea Bedrosian; Social Media, Mandy Plybon; Training/Orientation, Bob Sterner; and Webmaster, Charlie Anderson.

Kati Boland will lead the evening satellite club as chair during the coming year, and Tim Conner will serve as secretary/treasurer. Karen Digh-Allen and Mary Ann Beahon will be co-sponsors for the Rotaract Club at William Woods University. Kati Boland and Debbie Laughlin will be co-sponsors for the Interact Club at Fulton High School.

Members who joined the club in the past year were also recognized. They are JR Andrews, Andrea Bedrosian, Mary Bell, Jan Finke, Bill Ladwig, Joe Link, Sue Lippincott, Steve Long, Whit McCoskrie, Mandy Plybon, and Coletta Williams.

In addition to the installation and awards, Rotarians who recently achieved new levels as Paul Harris Fellows were acknowledged. The Paul Harris Fellow program continues the legacy of Rotary’s founder, recognizing individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation of Rotary International.

New Paul Harris Fellows are Jacque Brazas, Sardar Sherzad, Stephanie Vollmer and Coletta Williams. New PHF +1 are Charlie Anderson, Sue Lippincott, and Joan Morris. New PHF +2 is John Bell. New PHF +3 are Charlie James and Sherry McCarthy. New PHF +6 are Mary Ann Beahon and Debbie Laughlin.

Bob Sterner was the master of ceremonies for the banquet. Mandy Plybon led the Pledge of Allegiance, Allen Huggins gave the invocation, and Jacque Cowherd led the Four-Way Test.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see