top of page

Important Dates in Rotary History

Certain dates have special significance to members of the Rotary Club of Fulton.

  • February 23, 1905 – Rotary International (RI) founded by Paul Harris in Chicago, IL

  • 1910 – first Missouri Rotary clubs founded in St. Louis and Kansas City

  • 1918 – Rotary clubs founded in Kirksville and Jefferson City

  • 1920 – Rotary clubs founded in Hannibal and Moberly

  • 1922 – Rotary clubs founded in Jefferson City and Columbia

  • February 2, 1923 – Fulton Institutional Dinner at the Palace Hotel (Club founded by
    what is now called Columbia Downtown Rotary)

  • February 16, 1923 – Fulton Rotary Club application sent to RI

  • March 15, 1923 – Accepted by RI as Club #1381

  • J. Burlie McCubbin edited The Cog, club newsletter

  • 1926 – 1927 – Ed “Slick” Henderson served as District Governor and attended International Convention in Belgium 

  • 1927 – Ovid Bell took over as newsletter editor and changed the name to the Blunderbus

  • 1944 – Nolin Courtesy Award began, named for local druggist “Mose” Nolin

  • 1948 – 25th-anniversary banquet with Ovid H. Bell, president, and Nick T. Cave, toastmaster

  • 1963 – Swinton-Pendlebury, Lancashire, England selected as companion club

  • 1973 – 50th-anniversary banquet held at William Woods College

  • Henry Danuser becomes 1st Paul Harris Fellow

  • 1979 – Rotary Horse Show held at William Woods College

  • 1985 – The Story of a Small Town Rotary Club: #1381 written by Charles “Chuck” Jones and printed by The Ovid Bell Press, Inc.

  • 1989 - Four women were invited to join the Fulton Rotary Club after the Supreme Court ruled that women should be allowed to become members.

  • 2012 – Past President (2010-2011) Mike Beahon selected as District Governor-Nominee; to be DG in 2014-2015

  • 2013 – Fulton Rotary celebrates its 90th anniversary with a banquet at Westminster College

  • 2014 – Fulton Rotary celebrates the induction of Mike Beahon as District Governor, only the second DG in club history. Ray Klinginsmith of Kirksville, Rotary International president in 2010-11, installed Beahon in front of a crowd of 115 people, including Rotarians from Kansas and Arkansas.  Sadly, Mike passed away from kidney failure two weeks after being inducted as the District Governor.

  • 2015 - Fulton Rotary establishes Calllaway Cup Mouse Races as an annual fundraiser for the club.

  • 2016 - A Rotaract Club is established at William Woods University.

  • 2017 - An Evening Satellite Rotary Club is established.

  • 2018 - An Interact Club is established at Fulton High School.

bottom of page